I don’t know where I am, but it feels like home

So my host and I met up with some German freerunners to go to a locked room game. The concept of this game is that you get locked up in a room and have to find keys and clues to open the door. We got the door open in time, yey! Afterwards we went to this burger place in town, and those were the most expensive burgers I’ve ever seen. I didn’t want to spend €10 for a burger so I just had myself a beer and ate a shitload of cereal when we got back to his place and we played some Mario Kart on the Wii. We played abother game of chess and went to bed. The next morning we said goodbye and I had a long drive ahead. I drove off towards the Eltz Castle. I parked my car near a path leadin to it, out on my hiking shoes and started walking the narrow paths on a steep hill leading to the castle, when I reached it I was amazed by the view. I climbed a bit higher and sat there looking over the mountain for an hour, listening to the water while having some tea I had in my thermos. I talked to a professional German photographer up there as well. He showed me some of his work and to be honest I wasnnt really impressed by his work. However I encouraged him to keep doing what he loves and he went off. Later on, down by the river I met a young German fellow named Alex. He was there with some of his friends and he spoke to me about a website he made with some pictures. He told me that to him, there’s a story behind each picture, which is totally true. He also told me about the largest hanging bridge of Germany which was quite near. I decided to go there as well. After 15 minutes of driving I realised I had forgotten one of the most important things I brought on my trip: my best friend’s cap, which means a lot to me. It’s a little bit of home and my squad. So I went back to the parking lot and searched for it in the dark for over an hour but managed to find it.
I then went to a host I found in Koblenz. We had a good laugh and the next morning I left for the Geierlay bridge. I parked my car somewhere in town and started looking for signs towards the bridge. Seeing it had me flabbergasted for sure. Standing on it was magnificent as well! The cloyds going through the valley underneath created an even more beautiful view.
By noon I left for Frankfurt. I had read about a free tour organised by students there and we met up in what seemed to be the red light district of the city… So I actually parked my car in one of those streets and took the tour. I definitelt recommend the tour to anyone visiting Frankfurt a.M. You get to see all sides of the city. Both the beautiful buildings and skyscrapers, as well as the drugs and prostitution. By the end of the day I still hadn’t found a host so I thought: fuck this, I’m heading for Prague.

I spent the night sleeping in the car somewhere in between. In the morning I went to Kladno, and then proceeded to Prague. I walked all over the city and have seen the most beautiful constructions I’ve ever seen.
By 16h I received a text. It was some girl called ‘Barbara’ who was willing to host me. So I met here later in a building where they are building a big new parkour gym. I met some tracers there and made training arrangements for the day after and for that night. So later that night we went to train in a tumbling gym. We got back to Barbaras place, I had a shower (finally) and we went for some beers. I met some of her friends and we really got along. Eventually we spent the night at Giovanni’s place, one of her friends.
The day after we met up with some of the guys for some parkour training. I met this Ukrainian tracer, and we got along really well. The others left around 15h so we kept training, until we met up with some other local freerunners. By 21h I took some trams and busses to meet up with Barbara in some bar. Again we had some beers, which are the cheapest ever, we went home and Giovanni made some spaghetti, and it was great! Especially since we were all so hungry.
We went to bed and now I’m chilling at her place. I must say I lost a bit of myself in Prague. If I hadn’t anythingbto go back home for, I probably would not leave this city. But my heart belongs back home with my friends. I realise that now more then ever.
Traveling has already taught me so much about myself, and I’ve met awesome people and have seen beautiful things, but I must say that it feels good to know I’ll come home to my friends someday.

I will stay another night in Prague and will proceed the journey tomorrow. I’ll miss the friendships I’ve built here, though they’re fresh, they mean a lot to me. I can honestly say that this is not the last time I came to Prague.

Plaats een reactie