I climbed and I climbed and I left that place behind

Sunday, January 31th, 2016.

I’m in my car writing this right now. It’s almost 2AM and I’ve no idea of where I am. The only thing I do know is that I’m in Austria, close to the Slovakian border.

After saying goodbye to the magnificent people I’ve met in Prague, I left in the morning, heading for … Castle. I actually didn’t get the view I would’ve liked so I started walking in the woods around, looking for a way up. I followed some paths to find a good view but didn’t seem to find any. So I strayed from those and made my own. Due to high trees blocking the view, I didn’t think it was worth taking any pictures. I enjoyed it for a while and then tried to find my way back to the paths. It took me a while to find it but eventually I managed to do so. I kept following the path though, for who knows where it would bring me? Eventually I got quite lost, so I sat down in a beautiful field watching over the beautiful natureside and had some tea from my thermos.
I later took my backpack, got on my feet and started walking the paths I felt like they were leading me in the right direction. And eventually, they actually did. Great!
Afterwards I headed for Kutna Hora, one of Czech’s most beautiful cities. I had a short hike on a hill next to it to get a good view, checked out some buildings and went on. I went to Pardubice hoping to have a host responding very last minute. This guy told me he couldn’t have me spend the night there but I could come over for a shower and something to eat until he had to go. So I went there, got some tea and had a frozen pizza with him. I left at 20h and found a place tobpark the car and spend the night.

Next stop: Brno. Only 2 hours in the car from there, found a parking spot quite quickly (since it wasn’t past noon probably) and headed for the cathedral which I saw while driving there. This meant I had to climb the staircases again… Quite hard after days of intense parkour training. However, it truely was as amazing as the views over the city. On tom of the hill, I once again sat down, and drank some tea looking over the city. I walked around there for a while, spent my last 55K¢, and went on to the next place I wanted to go to: Vienna, Austria.

!didn’t post because I had no WiFi connection, continued writing from here on 2016-02-01!

I struggled to find any free parking so I parked my car 6km outside of the city. It was so hard to find the city centre from there and when I had seen the city (definitely go there) I had no idea where my car was… I followed some long path going around the city to where I get to a point I recognised and started looking frol there. Eventually I was able to find it, thank God!

I had no host for the night so I stayed in the car again. In the morning, while heading for Bratislava, Slovakia, I saw some beautiful hills on my left so I decided to go in that direction. While approaching the largest one, I got really excited. There was a parking spot nearby and the steepest path I’ve ever been on. My quads where on fire but I didn’t mind, for I loved the climb. Reaching the top felt amazing! However it was so windy and there wqs a lot of fog, I enjoyed the view very much! But I saw… Another hill… With a castle… So ofcoursz I felt like going there too. I went back down and on the way down, I noticed something about the rocks (forming the wall of the hill). A shape I liked and I decided to have a closer look… What I had to do to get there was rather dangerous but the curious mind of a traveler is strong. I went down making my own path and ran into some caves!
At first I was kind of afraid to go in there because of wild animals or stuff like that. (I saw some chamoises on the hill earlier) But eventually I went in and though they weren’t as deep, I really liked them! I got some great pictures and left for the castle on the other hill.
The castle wasn’t as hard to reach and quite a lot of tourists were there. The view was nice and I liked the idea of walking on grounds where people would live a 1000 years ago. (Fort dated from 1050.) I decided to go down and go on to Bratislava.

I parked about 2km away from the city centre so that was alright and started walking towards the centre. Afrer a few detours I found it and had a look around. At one point I went to some pub and had myself a beer, which are half the price of what you’d pay in Belgium. Later on I ordered a 4€ pizza and enjoyedcthe WiFi to contact my friends at home and my host for the night.
My host and I met up in this pub and we went looking for my car. I didn’t have as much trouble finding it as I did in Vienna, luckely. So we went to his grandma’s place where we are staying and had some tea, some Slovakian soup and some creamy Slovakian dessert. My host and I had a glass of really old but great vodka based on plums and chatted on until 2AM!

I just woke up and he wants to show me the city today instead of having me wandering around without knowing the interesting bits of Bratislava.

Plaats een reactie